The Green Chakra, the Real Color of Love

No items found.

Chakra (Sanskrit: चक्र, IAST: cakra, Pali: cakka, lit. wheel, circle; English: /ˈtʃʌk-, ˈtʃækrə/ CHUK-, CHAK-rə[2])) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being.

The concept is found in the early traditions of Hinduism. Beliefs differ between the Indian religions, with many Buddhist texts consistently mentioning five chakras, while Hindu sources offer six or even seven. Early Sanskrit texts speak of them both as meditative visualizations combining flowers and mantras and as physical entities in the body. Some modern interpreters speak of them as complexes of electromagnetic variety, the precise degree and variety of which directly arise from a synthetic average of all positive and negative so-called “fields”, thus eventuating the complex Nadi. Within kundalini yoga, the techniques of breath exercises, visualizations, mudras, bandhas, kriyas, and mantras are focused on manipulating the flow of subtle energy through chakras

Image for post

Some say there are 114 different chakras, but there are seven main chakras that run along your spine. These are the chakras that most of us are referring to when we talk about them.

Each of these seven main chakras has a corresponding number, name, color, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and health focus.

We are gonna explore the green chakra, the heart chakra.

Anahata, the heart chakra

Image for post
Image for post

Sanskrit Anahata means “sound produced without touching two parts” and at the same time, it means “pure” or “clean, stainless”. The name of this chakra signifies the state of freshness that appears when we are able to become detached and to look at the different and apparently contradictory experiences of life with a state of openness. Normally we are not used to the effect produced by the confrontation of the two opposite forces. At the level of Anahata chakra appears the possibility to integrate the two opposite forces and obtain the effect (sound, in this case), without the two forces being confronted (without touching of the two parts).

Within it is a yantra of two intersecting triangles, forming a hexagram, symbolizing a union of the male and female as well as being the esoteric symbol for the element of air (vayu). The seed mantra of air, Yam, is at its center. The presiding deity is Ishana Rudra Shiva, and the Shakti is Kakini.In esoteric Buddhism, this Chakra is called Dharma and is generally considered to be the petal lotus of “Essential nature” and corresponding to the second state of Four Noble Truths.

The green color is composed of yellow and blue in equal parts. We can say is composed of the sun and the sky. Green is the energy of love and transformation. It allows you to transform your ego and the needs of your lower chakras and open up to love. To become more loving and compassionate.

It is at the heart center where the energies of lower chakras (once the needs are fulfilled and satisfied) can be transformed and integrated into a more spiritual aspect of yourself. This is where you reach beyond yourself and connect with something greater, wider, and deeper.

Green is the color of growth, life, and balance. In Chinese traditional medicine, through balance, you find the center from which you can love, form healthy and nourishing relationships, and give and receive love.

The energy of green is soothing and calming, like a blanket of soft grass underneath your feet. It is the color of nature, grass, and trees.

Physical level

On a physical level green relates to the heart, lungs, chest, shoulders, arms, breasts, thymus gland, and cardiac nerve plexus.

People with strong green energy stand tall and radiate openness. Those with weak green energy appear tight in the upper body, they are slouching — their shoulders are drawn forward, protecting the heart center, and their head and neck are brought forward as well.


  • strong heart
  • healthy circulation
  • healthy immune system
  • strong in the upper body
  • flexible upper back and neck
  • high lung capacity


  • heart problems (angina, heart disease, heart attack)
  • pain in the upper body (back, neck, shoulders, arms)
  • tight muscles in the upper body
  • lung problems
  • the underactive or overactive immune system

Spiritual level

The spiritual aspect of green energy is instinctual knowing and growing into the spirit. The developmental task of the heart chakra is forming relationships with family and friends. On the spiritual level, we must always remember that we are entering the mystery and power of love.


  • compassion
  • unconditional love
  • deep self-love
  • feelings of being part of something larger
  • peacefulness and serenity
  • sensing everything is interconnected
  • altruistic


  • overwhelming grief
  • unable to see/feel a connection with the greater life
  • stuck in the needs of lower chakras
  • loneliness and isolation

Next time you stand still and look at the green color, make sure to feel the serenity, calmness, balance and feeling kindness and compassion for yourself and others.

Be green, see green, visualize green, breathe green, feel green, be calm, be kind, practice kindness, forgive, and be love.


  1. Swami Satyananda Saraswati. Kundalini Tantra
  2. — Anahata chakra”. Tantra Kundalini. Retrieved 14 November 2015.
  3. Acharya Bhagwan Dev (2004). Pranayam, Kundalini and Hatha Yoga. Diamond Pocket Books. p. 35. ISBN 9789350830673.
  5. The 7 Chakras Balancing, Colors and Meaning. p. 21. ISBN 9781500887919.